I talked to an energy researcher from Lawrence Livermore Labs today – but he left me scratching my head

on

I talked to an energy researcher from Lawrence Livermore Labs today – but he left me scratching my head

So, I talked to this guy at LL today. Basically he said that because solar panels as an industry have recently reached an EROEI above 1:1 this year that they're sustainable – even the supply chain aspect. But, given that oil is still somewhere between 2-10 at this point I'm asking how just barely being over 1 will allow us to continue to enjoy the standard of living we have.

In other words, what if the other supply chains in the world (manufacturing, computers, IT, etc.) require an EROEI of 2 or 3 or more and solar / wind can't provide that?

We know the energy density of sunlight (approx 1 W / sq ft) so even if we become twice as efficient as we are no, or even 3 or 4 times, we're still well below what oil can provide.

With that, how can we reasonably expect solar / wind to take the place of such an efficient resource as oil?

Leave a Reply

