First farm job, spreading manure with tractor / drag line setup. Tips?

on

First farm job, spreading manure with tractor / drag line setup. Tips?

Just finished company safety orientation and start training on the tractor this week. Small pumping crew, long hours, weekends off, good pay / benefits. Honestly the best job offer I've ever received, and I really want to lock this down.

I've got some experience on an old tractor at my folks' place, pretty basic hydraulics setup with a front end loader and a three point hitch. The machine I'll be using for work sounds quite a bit more sophisticated (GPS, auto-steer). How tough is the learning curve?

Regarding drag line pumping, how difficult is it to maneuver around obstacles (rock piles, trees, etc.) without damaging the hose?

I'm sure they'll teach me everything I need to know on site, I'd just like to show up with as much knowledge as I can. As I said, this is an amazing opportunity for me with a fantastic company and I really, really want to kick ass and lock this down.

Leave a Reply

